The First African American Encyclopedia   1 comment


Listen everyone, I know it has been tremendously difficult putting up with me posting so much but as I have said to two others, this is really not a blog, and I’m not a blogger, more of a historian.

I came up with the idea of starting this never-ending project after realizing through perception that so many young African Americans haven’t a sense of heritage only because it has been stripped from them.  This is my attempt to get part of it back for them, and help the students, teachers and parents teach their children about all the amazing people who have come before them setting and paving the way for a world they wanted for themselves, a world which was not much to ask for, yet a world impossibly out of reach.

It covers every era from the Revolutionary War, Slavery, post slaver, etc. it then goes on to cover the amazing entertainers of ragtime, blues/jazz, and then onto motown and r&b.  Most of all, it features all the entertainers themselves along with all the hollywood entertainers.  It features every African American Politician who ever served office and it portrays every fortune 500 executive.  It features the most powerful African American women in the world, and much much more.

Bear with me please as I get this project ready for the website,, and I do hope you all follow me, this was the most enriching experience of my life.  I never knew how wealthy people could be and I have been reading AA History since I was seven years old, but it’s a whole different ballgame when you are putting the pieces of the puzzle together.

God speed,

Penny

Posted March 3, 2012 by pennylibertygbow in Uncategorized

One response to “The First African American Encyclopedia

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love it that you are doing this. I started one about 10 years ago, but there was so much to do, I got busy with other things.

    I am going to let everyone on my Facebook page and on my PrideRock forum (http://forums.delphiforums.com/tmiorneedtoknow/start) also know about this encyclopedia.

    For six years, I have been documenting the more spiritual and political aspects and news of being black in America on Pride Rock, as well as as much history as I was able to get my hands on.

    I am glad you are doing this, it is wonderful work.

    ThanX! Renee

Leave a Reply

